Dear Knitters of the World,

I need a little bit of advice/help as I feel sort of overwhelmed. I don’t know how to proceed, or what’s the best order to learn certain skills.

Here’s what I can  do: cast on, knit and purl, yarn over, increase and decrease both knit and purl wise. Basically, the only item I’m qualified to make at this point is a scarf. Scarfs are boring to me, but anything else seems too difficult for my meager skills. So I’m at an impasse. I don’t know what patterns and projects I should tackle in order to learn new skills and stitches. I want to do cables, but should I learn some more easier techniques first? Also, knitting in the round. That’s what I’d really love to achieve next, so I can make awesome hats, but but my hands just won’t cooperate.

Crochet is the easiest thing in the world to me even though I struggled at first, so maybe I’m just not investing as much into learning to knit as I did with crochet.

Any tips and advice MOST welcome.

Love,

A crocheter attempting to enter the world of knits and purls.

8 thoughts on “Dear Knitters of the World,

  1. Hi! Speaking as a seasoned knitter & knitting instructor my best advice is learn the skills you are excited to use! Cables will surprise you with how easy the basics are, so I think this would be a great place to start. Basic knitting in the round is also pretty accessible and easy to expand on once you get the basics. I think starting with these two goals will open a lot of doors for you.

    As for how to learn these techniques, it really depends on how you most easily learn. Some people have a really easy time using online classes like those on Craftsy.com. Some can get enough from snippets on YouTube (beware that not all these are created equal… Or correct). And some people really benefit from being physically in the classroom with a teacher who can give you hands on help. If you find yourself in the latter group, check out your LYS for classes or private lessons or even local knitting groups that might have members willing to help.

    Hope this helps!

  2. Hmm..advice, Well, I think that knitting in the round is a good place to start. Maybe try a simple ribbed hat (just knitting and purling) and doing the decrease with DPNs or Magic Loop. If that seems a bit much, what about making a hat flat (not in the round) you can find some really great patterns that are just combinations of knitting and purling and all you have to do to finish is sew in the seams! That how I started to learn about different stitches, cabled and increase/decrease. If any of this interests you I could send you some links from Ravelry? Lemme know and good luck, you’ll do great, just be patient!

Leave a Reply

