Book Rec Friday – Phantom by Susan Kay

Image

I’m going way back with this one. I first read it when I was 12 or 13, and have since read it many times, although it’s been a while. First of all, I’ve been in love with Erik, AKA The Phantom of the Opera for….forever. And this book takes his life and story to a whole new level. It’s rare that a book that’s based on another work is actually worth something. But this one….breathtaking. It does romanticize the story, but I loved that. To me, Phantom of the Opera has always been a love story, but Susan Kay gives it life. She gives Erik’s story life. She takes us from his birth, troubled childhood, and tragic adulthood, all leading to

Cover of "Phantom"

Cover of Phantom

his meeting of Christine. Basically, it fills in what the original book left out in exquisite and heartbreaking detail.

You will fall in love him. You will. My review doesn’t do it justice.

Leave a Reply

