Summer Lovin Read-a-Thon Day 1 “Class Orientation” Participation Post

My name is Hannah, I’m 26, from Tennessee, and the south will hold my heart and soul forever.  I started this WordPress blog in order to share my creative works (crochet, jewelry, and recently knitting) and communicate with other people who create and have similar interests. I love the crafting world and creative community, and I’ve found a cozy home here on WordPress. I’ve tried other blogs before, but nothing ever came of it. So here I am now, doing my first Read-a-Thon with my blogging friends, and I’m really excited about the coming week.

I’ve always been a bookworm. When I was a kid, my best friends were Ramona Quimby, the Sweet Valley Twins, and Anne of Green Gables. There has never been a time in my life when I wasn’t obsessed with books and writing. Anxiety and panic attacks pushed me further into the fictional worlds of myth and fantasy, and I never looked back. Books are my escape. They always have been, and I don’t think I would have survived without them and the writers who acted as teachers, grandfathers, mothers, givers of wisdom, each word they wrote filling in pieces of my soul that would come together to shape who I have become today.

My favorite genre by far though is magical realism. When I was 19 I read One Hundred Years of Solitude for the first time, and it changed my life. It made me believe in LOVE. I went on to read everything by Gabriel Garcia Marquez in one summer. It was a summer of magic, self-discovery, and truth.

My favorite book of all time is To Kill a Mockingbird. Not surprising considering my love of all things southern. But this book is so much more than just a southern chronicle. Words fail me when I try to voice my love for this book.

In my old age (haha) I’ve become less restrictive on the genres I read. A few years ago I wouldn’t be caught reading any of that paranormal romance or romance novels in general. But what I’ve discovered is that, while there are a lot of terrible books masquerading through those genres, there are many priceless gems. I prefer historical romance. What can I say? I love Dukes and Earls.

My favorite writers of all time, the ones who have shaped me the most, who gave me wisdom when I was lost and no one else could find me, who there during a time in my life when I needed them most and there words were more than an inspiration, they were a life force: Hunter S. Thompson, Jack Kerouac, Ray Bradbury, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Flannery O’Connor, William S. Burroughs, Oscar Wilde, Nathaniel Hawthorne, J.R.R Tolkien, Kurt Vonnegut, Toni Morrison, and even though he’s known more for music, Leonard Cohen.

My goals for this week are just to READ and READ A LOT. I’m going to try to participate in every challenge and daily post, and update my progress on Twitter. Maybe I’ll even make some new friends who love the written word as much as I do.

I’ve decided to start out with Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

3 thoughts on “Summer Lovin Read-a-Thon Day 1 “Class Orientation” Participation Post

  1. Hi Hannah! I totally agree with what you said – paranormal and pnr can be iffy sometimes, but the good ones are SO good. I really like your goals as well – there’s no way this week won’t be a success!

    And I hope you like Ender’s Game! I read it for the first time recently, and I didn’t think I’d like it – but it totally blew my mind.

    Happy Summer Lovin’!

    ~ Nikki @ There were books involved…

    • I’m 24% in, and it’s starting to grow on me. I think it’s just one of those books that takes a while to pull you in.

      Happy Read-a-Thin to you as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

