Read-a-Thon: “You’re the One That I Want” Participation Post: Summer Reads

I have this thing about seasons, where I organize everything by what season it fits best. Music, movies, and of course, BOOKS, so I really like this post and love the opportunity to share the books I think are perfect for summer time.

I like my summer reads to be HOT, not as in, “this book has hot love scenes,” but the setting and the weather in the book. I like when what I’m reading matches my own environment. Kinda helps you feel it more, you know? I like beaches, the sea and sand, desert islands, deserts in general,  humidity, thunder storms.

So let’s get started.

I mentioned in my participation post that magical realism is my favorite genre. And this genre is perfect for summer, if you’re reading the South American authors, which are in my opinion, the masters of this genre. No one is better at describing the heat, humidity, and sweaty nights of secret love making like Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Isabell Allende. If you read these authors, you will be lifted from your own world and dropped off in the midst of a magic so exhilarating and unique, you’ll never want to leave.

 And after your trip to South America, let’s go to Africa. I was obsessed with Africa for a long time. And books, both fictional and non, fueled that obsession for several summers. Africa, to me, is the mother land, the place where we all came from, and maybe that’s why I feel so connected to it.

And then there’s sea and sand. The Beach by Alex Garland, The Island by Pete Benchley, tales of pirates and plundering, of getting lost at sea, stranded on desert islands. The Sea Wolf by Jack London, The Stranger by Albert Camus, The Old Man and the Sea by Hemingway,

And what is summer without some good, old fashioned southern charm? William Faulkner is good, if you take him with a side of whiskey. To Kill A Mockingbird is perfect for the end of summer, those last days before autumn starts to take hold. Truman Capote, Flannery O’Connor, A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy O’Toole.

This post is pretty scattered, and I apologize for that, so just take a look at my summer shelf on Goodreads for my favorite summer reads:

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/1778744-hannah?page=3&shelf=summer

3 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon: “You’re the One That I Want” Participation Post: Summer Reads

Leave a Reply

