Anxiety in Sales

I woke up this morning to find a hat that has been hanging around my shop for over a year had FINALLY sold. Of course I was ecstatic.

Image

I worked really hard on this hat, very thin yarn, small hook, tiny stitches, but it was worth it, and I loved the way it turned out. It was totally worth the blister I got on my finger. And now I’m sending it out into the world to someone, and that always scares me. What if they don’t like it when they get it? Find flaws? Don’t think it’s good enough? Regret their purchase? Want to return it? Leave a bad review? I WORRY WORRY WORRY, and it takes away from the happiness that comes with selling something I’ve worked so hard to created.

I’ve had these kind of issues since around the age of 12. I hate that my mental issues get in the way of my business. I think I and it would be more successful if I weren’t plagued with such self doubt all the time. I’m not a people person, at all, and that also has an adverse effect on making sells. It’s hard for me to get out there and communicate with people. I’m trying to work on, but it’s not easy. It’s like trying to rewire my brain. and it seems impossible.

Β 

4 thoughts on “Anxiety in Sales

  1. That is a beautiful hat. It just takes the right person to see it. Like it was meant just for them. I recently sold 2 larger scarves I felt the same about. The same person bought both. Also made them about a year ago. It’s like they were just hanging around till that customer found me. πŸ™‚ Such a wonderful find for your customer!!

    • I love the idea that every item I make has someone special just waiting to come across it. It makes it even more worth it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

