PCOS and Insulin Resistance: HELP

The cycle: I start to feel shaky and weak, it gets worse and worse, just within a few minutes, I break out in a cold sweat, my heart feels like it’s going to beat out of my chest. In a way, it’s akin to a panic attack, but this is something else, because the only fix is to eat as much sugar/carbs as I can, as fast as I can. It slowly does the job, and the symptoms ease up. But then I get extremely nauseous and and overcome with fatigue. This happens no matter what I eat, no matter how healthy or low carb, or unhealthy and full of carbs. And it happens almost every day. I do not have diabetes, I’ve been tested on several occasions, but I am insulin resistant thanks to PCOS, which is often called the cousin to diabetes. If I don’t get this under control, I WILL get diabetes though. But I don’t know how to fix this. When I told my doctors about it, all them of them have said, “Well, you’re not a diabetic, so that’s strange.” And that’s it. That’s all they have to say about the matter, other than maybe “watch your carbs.” I even had one tell me it was just a “habit.” Really? Ugh.

I’m so lost and frustrated right now. I don’t know how to fix it, how to fix my body. And no one seems to know how to help me either. I’m tired all the time, have nearly a constant headache, and losing weight is like climbing a mountain, barefooted, with no equipment.

I was on metformin for about 6 months last year, but it did nothing for me, other than give me major stomach issues. I’ve been on Yaz for 3 years now, and it has helped with some of the other symptoms of PCOS. So at least there’s that. I’ve recently done some research on adrenal fatigue and I definitely think that’s part of it, Maybe that combined with the insulin resistance?

I guess I’m posting about this because if anyone out there has had or is having a similar experience, please let me know. Whether you’ve found a solution or are just as lost as I am – let’s talk.

Leave a Reply

