PCOS and Birth Control – Advice Needed!

I haven’t had much luck getting responses when I post about PCOS here, probably because my blog is usually reserved for crafts and food. But here we go, anyway.

I’ve been doing a lot of research on PCOS and how taking birth control may not be the best thing, especially if you have bad insulin resistance like I do. Most articles I’ve come across say that BC only MASKS the hormonal symptoms while making other symptoms worse. I’ve also read articles suggesting that women who had no symptoms but were taking BC then stopped, developed PCOS, and I believe that’s what happened to me.

I started taking the pill when I was 22 because I was in a serious relationship, but didn’t want to worry about baby scares. I was on it for a little over a year, and after a lot of weight gain and reading up on some of the dangers of taking BC, I decided to stop, and that’s when all hell broke loose. I gained MORE weight, had constant spotting, and generally felt like crap all the time. After about 8 months of this, I decided to see a gyno about it, and subsequent tests proved I had PCOS. The solution? I was put back on the pill, and nearly three years later, I’m still on it.

Recently, I’ve started taking my disease more seriously, doing research, reading articles, and talking with other women who share my plight.

And all that has lead up to this: my decision to stop taking the pill (Yaz) and try to control my PCOS with diet, exercise and natural remedies.

So, advice on this? Women with PCOS, do you take the pill or not? And what are you experiences with or without it?

4 thoughts on “PCOS and Birth Control – Advice Needed!

  1. Hi! I know exactly what you’re going through as I’ve been there myself. I went on birth control in my mid-twenties because of the PCOS craziness I was experiencing. After about a year on the BC, I became an over-the-top emotional mess–this was VERY unlike me. I never suspected the BC was the root of the problem; I honestly had no idea what was wrong with my emotions. One day I was talking to a colleague about this & she asked me if I was, by any chance, on BC. I took myself off the BC & about a month later, I was totally back to my normal self.

    I stayed off BC for about 3 years as my husband & I started trying (unsuccessfully) to get pregnant. Unfortunately, those terrible PCOS symptoms reared their ugly heads with a vengeance. My gynecologist put me back on BC with a much lower dose of hormones to prevent the crazy emotional shift I experienced the previous time.

    I stayed on BC about 2-3 years until I decided I did not want to take any hormones whatsoever. I began researching PCOS & came across information about low carb diets & PCOS. My weight had fluctuated like crazy (thanks to PCOS) & until I began reading for myself, I didn’t actually understand why I had such a difficult time losing weight. To that point I had tried almost every type of diet & even taken pills prescribed by my doctor (combined with a low fat diet), but had absolutely no luck whatsoever. I read that low carb diets may help the body combat PCOS, & that with as little as a 5% body fat loss, symptoms of PCOS may begin reducing dramatically.

    So, here I am 3 years later–totally off BC, I have absolutely no PCOS symptoms, my gynecologist told me he no longer sees or feels any sign of PCOS, I’ve lost TONS of weight & I now have control over my weight & even got pregnant last year (I miscarried the pregnancy, but my doctor is hopeful that I should have no problems with pregnancy in the future).

    For me, low carb worked wonders for my PCOS. I stopped BC in April of 2011, began low carb in June of 2011 & by September of 2011 my PCOS symptoms began subsiding dramatically. My low carb diet ultimately became a complete lifestyle change & now my only regret is that I didn’t discover this earlier. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much for replying and sharing your story! I have heard so many good things about the low carb / keogenic diet. Women say it completely reverses their PCOS, I’ve been trying to eat lower carb and now that I’ve done my research and have a ton of recipes, am read to go full steam. I’ve also been taking cinnamon and chronium pills.

      Good luck with getting pregnant! That’s one of the worst thing about PCOS. So many women just want to be mothers, but PCOS interferes.

  2. Thanks! My fingers are crossed for a positive pregnancy test soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Low carb has truly been a life saver for me. The key to turning a low carb diet into a lifestyle is having lots of good meal variety–at least it’s been crucial for me. Also, support from those around me has been vital. Let me know if you have questions or anything; I’m more than happy to share what I’ve learned over the past 3 years. Best wishes on your journey!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. I also have PCOS and diabetes and I will be taking “The Pill”. One of the hard facts is that if you do not shed your uterine lining at least 4 times a year, you have an increased risk of uterine cancer. There are a number of other health related reasons to stay on some from of birth control. I reached my decision after doing my own research and having a long and frank discussion with my doctor. You likely HAD PCOS prior to taking The Pill and symptoms were controlled by The Pill (like mine). Best advice: take your research, make an appointment with your gyno, make a list of your questions and concerns and discuss ALL your concerns, no matter how embarrassing, before you make a decision.

Leave a Reply

