Twins

I gave up trying to come up with my own pattern. It just wasn’t what I wanted, so I purchased this pattern on Etsy, and it was just what I needed. A friend from jr. high/high school just had twins and she asked if I’d make something like this for them.

Also just finished another minion hat. And next up is an order for a baby santa hat and a head wrap. I’ve been staying busy, and it feels awesome. Although, since the santa hat and headwrap don’t need to be made until after Thanksgiving, I think I’m taking the afternoon off. Mostly because I can’t stop reading this book:

68428[1]Definitely read it if you’re into fantasy!

Advertisements

Book Rec – Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Image

I’ve already recommended this book everywhere else, so why not here? Basically, just go read it RIGHT NOW.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10112885-night-film

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.

Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Book Rec Friday – Phantom by Susan Kay

Image

I’m going way back with this one. I first read it when I was 12 or 13, and have since read it many times, although it’s been a while. First of all, I’ve been in love with Erik, AKA The Phantom of the Opera for….forever. And this book takes his life and story to a whole new level. It’s rare that a book that’s based on another work is actually worth something. But this one….breathtaking. It does romanticize the story, but I loved that. To me, Phantom of the Opera has always been a love story, but Susan Kay gives it life. She gives Erik’s story life. She takes us from his birth, troubled childhood, and tragic adulthood, all leading to

Cover of "Phantom"

Cover of Phantom

his meeting of Christine. Basically, it fills in what the original book left out in exquisite and heartbreaking detail.

You will fall in love him. You will. My review doesn’t do it justice.